Embassy Archives What's New/Press Releases

Ministerial Conference of Community of Democracies

New Delhi
June 20, 2000

The first-ever Ministerial Conference of countries representing the Community of Democracies will be held in Warsaw on June 25-27, 2000. The Ministerial Conference is being hosted by the Government of Poland. India has been a member of the Convening Group along with the Governments of Chile, the Czech Republic, Mali, Poland, the Republic of Korea and the United States.  More than 100 nations will be participating in the Conference.  External Affairs Minister Shri Jaswant Singh will be leading the Indian delegation to the Conference, and will chair the Ministerial Panel on Sharing best practices.

The initiative to set up the Community of Democracies aims to forge an international consensus among countries committed to democracy on ways of enhancing cooperation to support and deepen democracy where it exists, and to defend it where threatened.  Nations attending the Ministerial Conference will affirm their shared commitment to a core set of universal democratic principles in a Declaration to be issued at the conclusion of the Ministerial Conference.